Ticket Packages and Merchandise

Sibelius: The Complete Symphonies, Vol.1
Sibelius: The Complete Symphonies, Vol.1

Sibelius: The Complete Symphonies, Vol.1 (CD)

Boston Symphony Orchestra


The BSO could justly claim a unique relationship with Jean Sibelius, dating back to Koussevitzky's fierce advocacy of his music from the 1930s onwards. Sir Colin Davis - without question the leading conductor of this repertoire today - recorded a cycle of the seven symphonies and selected tone poems with remarkable efficiency in 1975 and 1976.

The performances won immediate acclaim and remain, arguably, the finest recorded cycle. Davis captures the music's wildness, grandeur, and invention, through playing of staggering virtuosity. This was the Boston Symphony at a real peak of prowess. Philips's bargain collection offers the most popular symphonies of the set: Nos. 1, 2, 4, and 5. This is a wonderful introduction to the music of this master symphonist.

The Complete Symphonies Vol. 1
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Sir Colin Davis, conductor
Recorded 1975 & 1976



Track Listing:

Disc 1

Symphony No. 1 in E minor Op. 39
1. Andante, ma non troppo - Allegro energico (11'15)
2. Andante (Ma non troppo lento) (9'14)
3. Scherzo (Allegro) (5'25)
4. Finale (Quasi una fantasia) (13'10)

Symphony No. 4 in A minor, Op. 63
5. Tempo molto moderato, quasi adagio (11'01)
6. Allegro molto vivace (4'36)
7. Il tempo largo (12'49)
8. Allegro (8'34)

Disc: 2

Symphony No.2 in D, Op.43
1. Allegretto - Poco allegro - Tranquillo, ma poco a poco ravvivando il tempo al allegro (9'40)
2. Tempo andante, ma rubato - Andante sostenuto (14'35)
3. Vivacissimo - Lento e suave - Largamente (5'57)
4. Finale (Allegro moderato) (14'32)

Symphony No.5 in E flat, Op.82
5. Tempo molto moderato - Largamente - Allegro moderato (14'56)
6. Andante mosso, quasi allegretto (9'02)
7. Allegro molto (8:01)