Ticket Packages and Merchandise

A Boston Pops Christmas - Live From Symphony Hall - CD
A Boston Pops Christmas - Live From Symphony Hall - CD

A Boston Pops Christmas - Live From Symphony Hall - CD (CD)



Featuring Keith Lockhart and the Boston Pops! The album of perennial favorites was recorded live at concerts during the 2012 Holiday Pops season in acoustically celebrated Symphony Hall in Boston.

Boston Pops Orchestra
Keith Lockhart, Conductor
BSO Classics

Track Listing:

  1. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing [w/chorus]
  2. The Twelve Days of Christmas [w/chorus]
  3. The Christmas Song
  4. Prologue from Hodie (This Day) [with chorus]
  5. Carol of the Drum [w/chorus]
  6. Three Christmas Spirituals
  7. Children Go Where I Send Thee [w/chorus]
  8. How the Grinch Stole Christmas [w/chorus]
  9. Holly Jolly Jingle [w/chorus]
  10. A Christmas Scherzo
  11. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  12. Sleigh Ride
  13. Zat You, Santa Claus? [w/chorus
  14. Merry Little Sing-Along [w/chorus]

The album features the world-renowned musicians of the Boston Pops led by conductor Keith Lockhart, and the majestic vocals of the all-volunteer Tanglewood Festival Chorus. A Boston Pops Christmas will delight listeners with a broad range of Christmas time musical gifts, from hymns, such as "Hark! The Herald Angels Sing" to popular tunes, such as "The Christmas Song," which evoke the magic of the holiday season. The new album will feature the signature Boston Pops tune Sleigh Ride, which was written by Leroy Anderson for the orchestra and has consistently ranked in the top ten most popular pieces of holiday music for the past sixty years.

The recording will also feature the popular Boston Pops arrangement of "The Twelve Days of Christmas," which mixes in clever snippets of Beethoven, Tchaikovsky, show tunes, and Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody." American Idol finalist and frequent Boston Pops collaborator Melinda Doolittle is a featured vocalist for a medley of Christmas spirituals "My Lord What a Morning," "Rise Up, Shepherd," and "Glory Hallelujah," as well as during the upbeat "Children, Go Where I Send Thee."

The new album also showcases Boston Pops arrangements of tunes from two of the most-watched Christmas TV specials-Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas and Rudolf the Red Nosed Raindeer. The Pops arrangement of theGrinchtune highlights the talents of actor Will LeBowand the sonorous vocals of Reid Burton. The orchestra performs its own Richard Hayman arrangement of Rudolf the Red-Nosed Raindeer. A Boston Pops Christmas is also the first Boston Pops recording to include a recording of the orchestra's popular sing-alongs, which close each concert during the orchestra's holiday series.