SHOTAKOVICH Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk


Photograph of James Conlon conducting at Tanglewood 1998, Photograph by Walter Scott

Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth of mtsensk
The BSO's first performance of music from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk was presented in the form of an extended orchestral concert suite arranged and conducted by James Conlon, who led two performances in Boston and one performance in Hartford, January 4-6, 1996.  
The extended orchestral suite arranged and performed by Conlon consisted of the following scenes: "In the Ismailov's Yard", "Dangerous Tension", "Katerina and Sergei I", "Passacaglia", "Katerina and Sergei II", "The Drunkard", "Police Pressure", and "In Exile." In July 1998 James Conlon again led the BSO in a performance of music from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk at Tanglewood --  this time in a shortened version of the 1996 suite that included the following scenes:  "Dangerous Tension," "Passacaglia", and "The Drunkard." 


CLICK HERE to view the BSO's performance history of Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth in HENRY, the BSO's Performance History Database!

<<<  Return to Main Exhibit Page



ShostakovichFeatured Documents
Click the links below to view the full documents.

Reviews for 1996 performance at Symphony Hall and 1998 performances at Tanglewood (PDF)

Program Notes for the 1996 performance at Symphony Hall  (PDF)

Program Notes for the 1998 performance at Tanglewood (PDF)




Featured Media Files
Watch/listen to related media in the BSO Media Center. 

Watch/Listen to Related Media Now


July 17, 1998 performance at Tanglewood, conducted by James Conlon:  "Dangerous Tension,"  excerpt 

January 5, 1996 performance at Symphony Hall, conducted by James Conlon: "Passacaglia," excerpt