2020-21 BSO Trumpets

Thomas Rolfs

Principal - BSO: Roger Louis Voisin chair, endowed in perpetuity; BPO: Roberta and Stephen R. Weiner chair, endowed in perpetuity

Thomas Rolfs, Principal Trumpet of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Boston Pops, began his career with the BSO in 1991 under Seiji Ozawa. He served first as 4th trumpet, and was later promoted by Ozawa to Associate Principal Trumpet. He was promoted to Principal Trumpet by James Levine.

Benjamin Wright

A former member of the Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra and of the Chicago Symphony, Benjamin Wright joined the Boston Symphony trumpet section in July 2002 and became second trumpet in 2010.

Thomas Siders

Associate Principal Trumpet

BSO: Kathryn H, and Edward M. Lupean chair

Thomas Siders joined the BSO as Assistant Principal Trumpet in January 2010 and was promoted to Associate Principal Trumpet in 2015.

Michael Martin

BSO: Ford H. Cooper chair, endowed in perpetuity

A native of Marietta, Georgia, Michael Martin joined the trumpet section of the Boston Symphony and the Boston Pops as Fourth/Utility trumpet in October 2010. Mr. Martin attended Northwestern University where he received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in trumpet performance studying with Barbara Butler and Charles Geyer.