2020-21 BSO Bassoons & Contrabassoon

Richard Svoboda

Principal / Edward A. Taft chair, endowed in perpetuity

Richard Svoboda has been the principal bassoonist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and a member of the Boston Symphony Chamber Players since 1989; as the BSO’s principal bassoon he occupies the Edward A. Taft Chair, endowed in perpetuity.

Suzanne Nelsen

BSO: John D. and Vera M. MacDonald chair

Suzanne Nelsen began her studies in Edmonton and instantly fell in love with the bassoon. She earned a bachelor's degree from McGill University and pursued further study at the Hague Conservatory in Holland, earning a UM degree.

Richard Ranti

Associate Principal Bassoon, Boston Symphony Orchestra; Principal Bassoon, Boston Pops Orchestra

BSO: Diana Osgood Tottenham/ Hamilton Osgood chair, endowed in perpetuity

Richard Ranti joined the Boston Symphony Orchestra as associate principal bassoon in 1989; he is also principal bassoon in the Boston Pops Orchestra. He teaches bassoon at New England Conservatory and teaches private lessons and master classes throughout the United States and Canada.

Gregg Henegar

BSO: Helen Rand Thayer chair

Gregg Henegar joined the Boston Symphony Orchestra as contrabassoon in 1992, having previously held the same position with the Houston Symphony. An active teacher, Mr. Henegar is a faculty member at New England Conservatory, Boston University and the Tanglewood Music Center.