2020-21 BSO Clarinets & Bass Clarinets

William R. Hudgins


Ann S. M. Banks chair, endowed in perpetuity

William R. Hudgins was appointed principal clarinetist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra by Seiji Ozawa in 1994, occupying the Ann S.M. Banks chair, having joined the orchestra two years earlier.

Michael Wayne

Clarinetist Michael Wayne joined the Boston Symphony Orchestra’s clarinet section in September 2008. Prior to joining the BSO, Mr. Wayne was Principal Clarinet of the Kansas City Symphony and a member of the Grand Teton Festival Orchestra.

Thomas Martin

Associate Principal and E-flat Clarinet, Boston Symphony Orchestra; Principal Clarinet, Boston Pops Orchestra

Stanton W. and Elisabeth K. Davis chair, endowed in perpetuity

Thomas Martin is associate principal clarinetist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and principal clarinetist of the Boston Pops Orchestra. Mr. Martin began his professional music career as a clarinetist, saxophonist, and flutist at age thirteen, performing with several big bands and combos in his native Wisconsin.