"Casual Fridays"-a young-audience initiative designed to make concerts more affordable 

[Casual Friday Ipad]

The BSO, in collaboration with MIT, will offer ConcertCue, an innovative real-time program note app during the orchestra's "Casual Fridays" program on February 9. 
ConcertCue presents contextual program notes and images on concert-goers' mobile devices in real-time during the musical performance. 

BUY TICKETS: Friday, February 9, 8PM

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Thomas Ad├Ęs, piano
Kirill Gerstein, piano
Jean Yves Thibaudet, piano

J.S. BACH - Concerto in D minor for three pianos, BWV 1063
Sean SHEPHERD - New work (world premiere; BSO co-commission)
MENDELSSOHN - Symphony No. 3, Scottish

Conductor Cam  seating offers a view of the conductor from the orchestra's perspective. Experience what it's like to perform on the Symphony Hall stage under the baton of our own Andris Nelsons! 

On February 9 if you sit in the Technology section you're invited to keep your smartphone on!

Check out ConcertCue, interactive program notes that let you follow along to the music and learn more!
These program notes include text, images, and other rich media, precisely timed to important events in the music itself.  ConcertCue is a mobile web application that streams synchronized program notes during a live musical performance. 

ConcertCue will run during the second half of the BSO concert, when the orchestra performs the world premiere of American composer Sean Shepherd's Express Abstractionism, a co-commission of the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Gewandhaus Orchestra. In addition to insightful program notes, the app will include work by such abstract artists as Alexander Calder, Gerhard Richter, Wassily Kandinsky, and Piet Modrian whose work inspired Shepherd's new piece of music. The ConcertCue app was developed by Eran Egozy, the founder of Harmonix Music Systems, which is best-known for the wildly popular video games "Guitar Hero" and "Rock Band." Eran is a member of the Boston Symphony Orchestra's Media and Technology Committee, which is headed by former MIT president Susan Hockfield.

[Casual Friday Ipad]ConcertCue Excerpt: The title of Sean Shepherd's new work, Express Abstractionism, is a clever reference to the five artists whose work inspired him. The first movement relates to the American sculptor Alexander Calder; the second to the living German painter Gerhard Richter; the third pairs Russian artist Wassily Kandinsky and the American Lee Krasner, and the finale reflects the work of the Dutch artist Piet Mondrian. The music is brilliantly orchestrated and full of intricate contrasts, ending in surprising serenity.


The February 9 "Casual Fridays" performance is also part of "Leipzig Week in Boston," the first stage of a five-year multi-dimensional collaboration between the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Gewandhaus Orchestra (GHO)-both of which have Andris Nelsons as Music Director. 

[Casual Friday reception]All performances in the "Casual Fridays" series includes a free pre-concert reception for all concert-goers and an opportunity for audience members to hear directly from conductors and musicians from the Symphony Hall stage. This series also encourages both concert-goers and orchestra members to wear their favorite casual attire to Symphony Hall.

Ticket-holders are invited to attend a post-concert gathering in Higginson Hall to mingle and share their concert experiences in a relaxed setting with live music, snacks, and a cash bar.

"Casual Fridays" are among the lowest-priced performances each season, with tickets ranging from $25 to $45.

The Boston Symphony Orchestra and Gewandhausorchester Leipzig Alliance is supported by a leadership gift from the Gregory E. Bulger Foundation/Gregory Bulger & Richard Dix.

[Andris Nelsons]In addition to the February 9 performance, the final "Casual Fridays" of the season will take place on April 6


Andris Nelsons, conductor

SHOSTAKOVICH - Symphony No. 4

This performance of Dmitri Shostakovich's Symphony No. 4 continues the BSO and Andris Nelson's multiseason survey of the composer's complete symphonies. Shostakovich completed this dark but powerfully majestic work in 1936, but fears of official Soviet condemnation following a scathing criticism of his opera Lady Macbeth of Mtsenskled him to cancel the symphony's premiere. He instead wrote the ostensibly triumphant, widely acclaimed Fifth Symphony; the Fourth was first performed only in 1961.