April 18-20 Bacewicz, Mozart and Mendelssohn

[Francesco Piemontesi]

Andrew Manze conducts Bacewicz, Mozart and Mendelssohn featuring Francesco Piemontesi, piano
Each making his BSO debut, English conductor Andrew Manze and Swiss pianist Francesco Piemontesi join the orchestra for a somewhat rarely heard Mozart concerto, the vivacious No. 19 in F, which the BSO hasn't played in Symphony Hall since 1994.


TICKETS: April 18, 8PM

TICKETS: April 19, 1:30PM

TICKETS: April 20, 8PM

Purchase a Pre-Concert Meal Ahead of Time Online!  
All orders must be placed 72 hours prior to the performance.

About the Music: Podcasts & Program Notes


Download the Full Program Notes (PDF) >


  • Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 19 Video Preview by Anthony Princiotti.
  • Mendelssohn's Symphony No 5. Video Preview by Anthony Princiotti.
  • Mendelssohn's Symphony No 5. Video Podcast by Anthony Princiotti.
  • Program Snapshot: Brian Bell takes a minute to introduce the program of April 18-20, 2019.
  • Audio Concert Preview written by Robert Kirzinger and Marc Mandel.
  • Guest conductor Andrew Manze speaks with Brian Bell about the original version of the Mendelssohn Reformation Symphony, which is on the program of April 18-20, 2019. They also talk about the Concerto for String Orchestra by Grazyna Bacewicz being performed by the BSO for the first time.
  • Pianist Francesco Piemontesi speaks about Mozart with Brian Bell. Francesco Piemontesi will perform the Mozart Concerto No. 19 in F major, Kochel 459 on April 18-20, 2019.

Andrew Manze, conductor
Francesco Piemontesi, piano

BACEWICZ Concerto for String Orchestra 
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 19 in F, K.459
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 5, Reformation 

Graźyna Bacewicz was one of Poland's most important composers of the mid-20th century, and one of very few women with an international reputation in that era. Her dynamic and soulful Concerto for String Orchestra won the Polish State Prize in 1950. Mendelssohn's Fifth Symphony, Reformation, is based in part on Martin Luther's hymn "A Mighty Fortress Is Our God." The symphony was written to coincide with the 300th anniversary of a major Reformation event, the Augsburg Confession.