January 16-21, Lee, Mozart, and Tchaikovsky

Yu-An Chang conducts Lee, Mozart, and Tchaikovsky featuring pianist Till Fellner
Making his subscription series debut with these concerts, BSO Assistant Conductor Yu-An Chang, who is from Taiwan, leads the world premiere of a new BSO-commissioned work by the prominent Taiwanese-American composer Chihchun Chi-sun Lee.

Austrian pianist Till Fellner makes his second appearances with the BSO as soloist in Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 25, the biggest, most symphonic, and most contrapuntally intricate of his concertos. Compared to his five other symphonies, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 3 (the nickname “Polish” was not the composer’s own) is rarely performed; the BSO last played it in Symphony Hall in 1995. The symphony is, unusually, in five movements, three of which are strongly dance-oriented.

Composer Chihchun Chi-sun Lee will join Robert Kirzinger for the Friday Preview to talk about her new BSO-commissioned piece from 12:15–12:45pm in Symphony Hall.

Yu-An Chang, conductor
Till Fellner, piano
Chihchun Chi-sun LEE Formosan Triptych (world premiere;
      BSO commission)
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 25 in C, K.503
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 3, Polish