January 2-4, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky

Marcelo Lehninger conducts Beethoven and Tchaikovsky featuring pianist Javier Perianes
Former BSO assistant conductor Marcelo Lehninger, who last led the BSO in 2014, is joined by distinguished pianist Javier Perianes, for Beethoven’s heaven-storming Piano Concerto No. 5. Completed in 1811, it was the composer’s final concerto, a work perfectly balancing virtuosity with substance and depth and epitomizing the composer’s “heroic” period. (Perianes last performed with the BSO in March 2016.) Beethoven’s bright, five-minute overture to The Creatures of Prometheus, composed in 1801, was part of his complete ballet score, the first music he ever wrote for the theater. Closing the program is Tchaikovsky’s 1888 Symphony No. 5, a work as intensely lyrical as it is powerful, which uses a recurring “fate theme” to unify all four movements.

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Javier Perianes
BEETHOVEN Overture to The Creatures of Prometheus
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 5