November 7-12, Jolas, Ravel, and Shostakovich

Andris Nelsons conducts Jolas, Ravel, and Shostakovich featuring pianist Mitsuko Uchida
Andris Nelsons and the BSO continue their survey of the complete symphonies of Dmitri Shostakovich with his Twefth, The Year 1917, composed in 1961.

Its subtitle refers to the successful Bolshevik Revolution that resulted in the establishment of the communist Soviet Union. These are the BSO’s first performances of the complete symphony. (Its third movement, “Aurora,” named for a warship whose crew took part in the Revolution, was performed during a series of BSO Youth Concerts marking the composer’s centenary in November 2006.)

Opening these concerts are the American premiere performances of the French-American composer Betsy Jolas’ Letters from Bachville, a BSO commission. Jolas, who celebrates her 93rd birthday in 2019, has been on the faculty of the BSO’s Tanglewood Music Center on several occasions. The outstanding Mitsuko Uchida joins the BSO and Mr. Nelsons for Ravel’s scintillating and poignant Piano Concerto in G.

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Mitsuko Uchida, piano
Betsy JOLAS Letters from Bachville (American premiere;
      BSO co-commission)
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G
SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 12, The Year 1917

BSO Performances of Letters from Bachville by Betsy Jolas have been made possible through the Jazz & New Music program of the FACE Foundation, in partnership with the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United States.