October 17-19, J.S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, and Bartók 

Andras Schiff Black and White Photo - Sitting the the piano playing.


TICKETS: October 17, 8PM

TICKETS: October 18, 1:30PM

TICKETS: October 19, 8PM

Purchase a Pre-Concert Meal Ahead of Time Online! 
All orders must be placed 72 hours prior to the performance.

Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!

J.S. Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, and Bartók featuring Sir András Schiff in the dual role of conductor-soloist
The eminent Hungarian-born pianist András Schiff made his BSO debut in 1983 and last appeared with the orchestra in 2008.

In his first appearances with the BSO as a conductor, he leads Bach’s F minor concerto and Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1 from the keyboard. After intermission, he takes the podium to conduct Brahms’s Haydn Variations and Bartók’s pungent folk-influenced Dance Suite. The Haydn Variations are based on the “Chorale St. Antoni,” a well-known melody once attributed to Haydn. Composed in 1873, this was Brahms’ biggest foray into purely orchestral music prior to completing his first symphony three years later. Based on a variety of traditional dance melodies, Bartók’s Dance Suite was immensely successful at the time of its 1923 premiere.

Sir András Schiff, conductor and piano
J.S. BACH Piano Concerto in F minor, BWV 1056
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 1
BRAHMS Variations on a Theme by Haydn
BARTÓK Dance Suite