October 24-26, Fauré, Ammann, Messiaen, and Debussy

Susanna Mälkki conducts Fauré, Ammann, Messiaen, and Debussy featuring pianist Andreas Haefliger
Finnish conductor Susanna Mälkki returns for a program of sensually colorful French music as well as the American premiere of Swiss composer Dieter Ammann’s new work for piano and orchestra, written for the German-born Swiss pianist Andreas Haefliger. 

Boasting both jazz and modernist credentials, Ammann writes music of great spontaneity and verve. Debussy’s three-movement La Mer—which was given its American premiere by the BSO in 1907—is among the greatest of all French orchestral works, a musical depiction of the changing states of the sea over the course of a day. The program also includes two shorter works: Fauré’s stately, gorgeous, and familiar Pavane, as well as the third movement of Olivier Messiaen’s early orchestral work L’Ascension(1932), which already demonstrates the composer’s unique voice as well as his Debussy-influenced musical heritage.

Susanna Mälkki, conductor
Andreas Haefliger, piano
FAURÉ Pavane, Op. 50 (07)
Dieter AMMANN The Piano Concerto (“Gran Toccata”) (32)
  (American premiere; BSO co-commission)
MESSIAEN “Alleluia on the trumpet, alleluia on the cymbal”
L’Ascension (06)
DEBUSSY La Mer, Three Symphonic Sketches (22)