October 7-9, October 12, Strauss and Mozart

Andris Nelsons conducts Strauss and Mozart featuring pianists Christina and Michelle Naughton
Andris Nelsons is joined by Philadelphia-based sisters Christina and Michelle Naughton for Mozart’s Concerto in E-flat for two pianos.

Mozart probably wrote this elegant and brilliant concerto for himself and his sister Nännerl to play in about 1779; they had been performing together as siblings since early childhood. Maestro Nelsons continues his multi-season exploration of Richard Strauss’s music with both the BSO and the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. A rarely heard scene from the composer’s legend-based 1901 opera Feuersnot— music not performed by the BSO since 1911—opens the program, followed by the composer’s beautiful and profound symphonic poem Death and Transfiguration.

Andris Nelsons, conductor
Christina and Michelle Naughton, pianos

STRAUSS ‘Love Scene’ from Feuersnot
STRAUSS Death and Transfiguration
MOZART Concerto in E-flat for two pianos, K.365