Skip to content
Updated health and safety protocols for Symphony Hall, effective January 15
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Bach + Vivaldi Gloria

Symphony Hall

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Savor music performed with renewed vitality by the Handel and Haydn (H+H) Orchestra. The Ouverture of J.S.’s buoyant Orchestral Suite No. 1 leads into a set of elegant dances, while C.P.E.‘s ecstatic Magnificat features festive trumpets and drums that infuse this masterpiece with sparkling life. Our exceptional Chorus also shines in Vivaldi’s sunny Gloria, with conductor Jonathan Cohen contributing his passion for Baroque jewels, honed at Quebec’s Les Violons du Roy and London’s Arcangelo. Listen for the rapturous “Domine Deus” movement of Vivaldi’s beloved masterwork.

J.S. Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 1, BWV 1066
Vivaldi: Gloria, RV 589
C.P.E. Bach: Magnificat

Performed by
Jonathan Cohen, conductor
Joélle Harvey, soprano
TBD, alto
Nicholas Phan, tenor
Tyler Duncan, baritone
H+H Orchestra and Chorus

Concert Length
The concert runs 2 hours including intermission.

conductor Jonahan Cohen sitting and smiling

Symphony Hall

  • Keeping You Safe in Sound at Symphony Hall

    Please note that all visitors to Symphony Hall must present either proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test to enter, and CDC-approved masks are required while in the hall. A negative COVID-19 test must either be a PCR test taken within the last 72 hours or an antigen test taken within the last 24 hours. Be sure to read about all our new health and safety protocols before attending. We look forward to sharing this special celebration with you. Welcome back!

Getting Here

Plan Your Visit