Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Tanglewood Recital Series: Boston Symphony Chamber Players and Paul Lewis, piano

Ozawa Hall in the evening


Seiji Ozawa Hall, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Boston Symphony Chamber Players 
Paul Lewis, piano

ALLISON LOGGINS-HULL Homeland for solo flute 
MOZART Quintet in E-flat for piano and winds, K.452 
BRAHMS String Sextet No. 2 in G, Op. 36

Composer Allison Loggins-Hull has written for everyone from Lizzo to Hans Zimmer. Her 2018 work Homeland for solo flute is a thoughtful exploration of a country in crisis, written in the wake of the hurricanes, civil wars, and social unrest that wracked the world in 2017.

Pianist Paul Lewis joins the Boston Symphony Chamber Players for Mozart’s Quintet in E-flat for piano and winds, a carefully expressive work that the composer wrote two days before its premiere, and that he nonetheless loved. Brahms’ restrained String Sextet No. 2 caps off the evening.

Tonight’s concert is generously supported by an anonymous donor.

Paul Lewis sitting with his head resting in his left hand

Performance Details

Jul 24, 2024, 8:00pm EDT