Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Elizabeth Ogonek, Farrenc, and Beethoven featuring Paul Lewis, piano

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

The Boston Symphony Association of Volunteers Concert

Andris Nelsons and English pianist Paul Lewis collaborate on the third of three concerts encompassing all five of Ludwig van Beethoven’s piano concertos in one weekend. Each of these concerts opens with a BSO co-commissioned piece by an American woman. Elizabeth Ogonek was a Tanglewood Music Center Fellow in 2012. She has been a composer in residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and has also been commissioned by the BBC, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the London Symphony Orchestra. The French composer Louise Farrenc was one of the most accomplished musicians of the early Romantic era—an outstanding pianist, composer, and teacher. She wrote her Third Symphony in 1847. Completed in 1811, Beethoven’s Emperor was his final concerto, a work perfectly balancing virtuosity with substance and depth and epitomizing the composer’s “heroic” period.

Gates open at 12pm

Paul Lewis sitting with his head resting in his left hand

Performance Details

Jul 31, 2022, 2:30pm EDT