Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Fazil Say and Brahms featuring soprano Ying Fang, bass-baritone Shenyang, and Arthur and Lucas Jussen, pianos

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

The Turkish composer Fazil Say is also an outstanding pianist whose music is informed by a lifelong commitment to spontaneity and improvisation. He wrote his piano four-hands concerto Phoenix, a BSO co-commission receiving its American premiere in this concert, for the remarkable Dutch duo-pianists Lucas and Arthur Jussen, who gave the world premiere in January 2022 with the Munich Philharmonic. Featuring the Tanglewood Festival Chorus, Johannes Brahms’ masterpiece A German Requiem is an utterly personal but scarcely ceremonial work, setting Biblical texts in Martin Luther’s German translations. Returning as soloists with the BSO are Chinese soprano Ying Fang and Chinese bass-baritone Shenyang in their Tanglewood debuts.

This program is supported as part of the Dutch Culture USA program by the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York.

Gates open at 12pm

Performance Details

Jul 17, 2022, 2:30pm EDT