Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Simon and Beethoven featuring Yuja Wang, piano

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano

Carlos SIMON Warmth from Other Suns, for string orchestra 
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 4
ELLINGTON Three Black Kings 
ELLINGTON A Tone Parallel to Harlem

Yuja Wang brings her powerhouse artistry to Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto, a piece renowned for its groundbreaking approach to the form and exquisite dialogue between piano and orchestra.

Andris Nelsons also leads the BSO in two pieces by the seminal Duke Ellington; the composer described A Tone Poem to Harlem as a musical stroll through the city on a Sunday morning, and Three Black Kings – originally written as a eulogy for Martin Luther King, Jr. — was the last piece Ellington worked on before his death.

Tonight's concert is generously supported by Paul Chan and Donald J. Toumey.

Tonight's performance by Yuja Wang is generously supported by Joseph and Paula McNay, The New England Foundation.

Yuja Wang sitting in front of a piano sideways, smiling and touching the keys

Performance Details

Jul 13, 2024, 8:00pm EDT