Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos
The George W. and Florence N. Adams Concert Endowed in Perpetuity Koussevitzky 150 Boston Symphony Orchestra at Tanglewood

Andris Nelsons conducts Lee, Copland, Thompson, and Stravinsky featuring Paul Lewis, piano

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons, conductor
Paul Lewis, piano
Thomas Warfield, narrator
Tanglewood Festival Chorus
 James Burton, conductor

James LEE III Freedom’s Genuine Dawn
COPLAND Piano Concerto
THOMPSON Alleluia, for unaccompanied chorus
STRAVINSKY Symphony of Psalms

In tribute to Serge Koussevitzky’s legacy, Andris Nelsons and the BSO dedicate this concert series to the trailblazer. 

This program, focusing on the wide variety and rich tapestry of 20th century music, explores themes of spirituality and liberation, blending American sounds and European traditions, much as Koussevitzky did during his life. Performing artist Thomas Warfield joins as the narrator for James Lee’s Freedom’s Genuine Dawn, a piece based on the great Fredrick Douglas text “What to the Slave Is the 4th of July?”, which makes the audience grapple with the legacy of slavery being intertwined with the founding of the country. 

This afternoon’s performance by the Tanglewood Festival Chorus is supported by the Alan J. and Suzanne W. Dworsky Fund for Voice and Chorus.

Performance Details

Jul 28, 2024, 2:30pm EDT