Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Mackey, Koussevitzky, Sibelius, and Scriabin

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Boston Symphony Orchestra 
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Yefim Bronfman, piano 
Edwin Barker, double bass 
Will Liverman, baritone 
Tanglewood Festival Chorus 
 James Burton, conductor

Steven MACKEY Urban Ocean 
KOUSSEVITZKY Double Bass Concerto 
SIBELIUS The Origin of Fire for baritone, male chorus, and orchestra 
SCRIABIN Prometheus, Poem of Fire, for piano, chorus, and orchestra

This evening's performance by the Tanglewood Festival Chorus is supported by the Alan J. and Suzanne W. Dworsky Fund for Voice and Chorus.

In tribute to Serge Koussevitzky’s legacy, Andris Nelsons and the BSO dedicate this concert series to the trailblazer, opening with Koussevitzky’s virtuosic Double Bass Concerto performed by the BSO’s own Edwin Barker.  

Baritone Will Liverman and the Tanglewood Festival Chorus join the program for two impassioned works: Sibelius’ The Origin of Fire and Scriabin’s Prometheus, Poem of Fire, which Koussevitzky led the 1925 premiere of. 

Performance Details

Jul 26, 2024, 8:00pm EDT