Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos
The Cynthia and Oliver Curme Concert Boston Symphony Orchestra at Tanglewood

Andris Nelsons conducts Snider, Prokofiev, and Dvořák featuring Augustin Hadelich, violin

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons, conductor 
Augustin Hadelich, violin

Sarah Kirkland SNIDER Forward into Light 
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 2 
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 7

Written as part of the NY Philharmonic’s “Project 19” — which commissioned 19 female composers to write new works commemorating the ratification of the 19th Amendment — Sarah Kirkland Snider’s Forward Into Light is a meditation on “perseverance, bravery, and alliance.” The title is derived from a suffrage slogan, and the music contains quotes from the woman’s suffrage movement anthem, “March of the Women.”

Grammy-winner Augustin Hadelich rounds out the program with Prokofiev’s intense Violin Concerto No. 2, and Andris Nelsons leads the BSO in Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 – sometimes called the composer's greatest symphony.

Today's performance of Forward into Light is supported by John Lowell Thorndike, former BSO trustee, treasurer, vice president, and lifelong advocate for the performance of contemporary music.

Augustin Hadelich wearing a purple shirt and blue suit jacket, holding a violin close with both hands.

Performance Details

Jul 14, 2024, 2:30pm EDT