Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons and the TMC Conducting Fellows conduct Ravel, Strauss, and Schubert

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

The Phyllis and Lee Coffey Memorial Concert

BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons and Tanglewood Music Center (TMC) Conducting Fellows lead the TMC Orchestra in music showcasing instrumental color and virtuosity. Abandoned in its two-movement form by Franz Schubert in 1822, the B minor symphony stands out for innovations in form, melody, and orchestration. The two Richard Strauss works on the program are poles apart in intention: the early Death and Transfiguration is a profound imagining of a man’s thoughts and revelations at the end of his life, while the “Dance of the Seven Veils” from the opera Salome is the alluring means by which, at her mother Herodias’s bidding, Salome seduces her stepfather Herod. Maurice Ravel’s charming orchestral suite Le Tombeau de Couperin was in part inspired by the French Baroque composer François Couperin.

Gates open at 5:30pm

Performance Details

Jul 11, 2022, 8:00pm EDT