Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos
The Margaret Lee Crofts Concert TMC Festival of Contemporary Music

Stefan Asbury and the TMC Conducting Fellows conduct Zwilich, Mackey, Anderson, and León

Ozawa Hall in the evening


Seiji Ozawa Hall, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra
Stefan Asbury, conductor
Orli Shaham, piano
TMC Conducting Fellows

Ellen Taaffe ZWILICH Celebration
Steven MACKEY Piano Concerto, Stumble to Grace
T.J. ANDERSON Squares for Orchestra 
Tania LEÓN Ser
Tania LEÓN Pasajes

The TMC Festival of Contemporary Music seeks to showcase up-and-coming, path-finding, and groundbreaking new composers whose works we believe will define the next evolution of classical music. 

In this finale to our festival, the TMCO led by Stefan Asbury and soloist Orli Shaham tackle five new works that cover the breadth of what contemporary music has to offer: innovative textures, traditional sounds mixed with compelling soundscapes, and fresh perspectives. The program opens with Ellen Taaffe Zwilich’s Celebration, a piece that, as Zwilich herself put it, celebrates the art of the orchestra. Also on the program are two twin pieces by one of the foremost composers of our era, Tania León. 

The Festival of Contemporary Music has been endowed in perpetuity by the generosity of Dr. Raymond H. and Mrs. Hannah H. Schneider, with additional support from the Fromm Music Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music, the Amphion Foundation, Inc., and the Alice M. Ditson Fund at Columbia University. 

Large tree on the Tanglewood grounds near the Music Shed.

Performance Details

Jul 29, 2024, 8:00pm EDT