Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Carlos Simon, Barber, Ellington and Gershwin featuring Nicole Cabell, soprano and Aaron Diehl, piano

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox, MA

BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons is joined by the dynamic soprano Nicole Cabell for this all-American program. The BSO premiered Samuel Barber’s gorgeously nostalgic Knoxville: Summer of 1915, based on a text by James Agee, in 1948. Complimenting Barber’s small-city observations is George Gershwin’s exuberant, jazzy, and occasionally homesick tone poem An American in Paris. The multifaceted American pianist Aaron Diehl joins the orchestra for Duke Ellington’s New World A-Coming, transcribed from Ellington’s 1943 Carnegie Hall performance. Opening the program is Washington, D.C.-based composer Carlos Simon’s Motherboxx Connection, a 2021 piece inspired by the Afrofuturist-leaning artist collective Black Kirby.

Ticket includes admission to 6pm Prelude Concert.

Performance Details

Jul 9, 2022, 8:00pm EDT