Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Andris Nelsons conducts Berlioz and Mahler featuring Christine Goerke, soprano

Exterior of the Koussevitzky Music Shed with Tanglewood lawn


Koussevitzky Music Shed, Lenox/Stockbridge, MA

Leonard Bernstein Memorial Concert
The 2022 Leonard Bernstein Memorial Concert is supported by generous endowments established in perpetuity by Dr. Raymond and Hannah H. Schneider, and Diane H. Lupean.

Acclaimed dramatic soprano Christine Goerke joins Music Director Andris Nelsons in a rarely heard early work by the French innovator Hector Berlioz. Berlioz’s passionate “lyric scene” La Mort de Cléopâtre is a monodrama in which the Egyptian queen meditates on the triumphs and tragedies of her life at the moment of her death. Another orchestral innovator, Gustav Mahler composed his towering Fifth Symphony in 1901-02 following an intensive study of J.S. Bach’s counterpoint, resulting in a new and highly individual approach to the orchestra. The fourth movement is the famous and moving Adagietto for strings and harp.

Ticket includes admission to 6pm Prelude Concert.

Gates open at 5:30pm

Christina Goerke headshot

Performance Details

Jul 23, 2022, 8:00pm EDT