Tickets & Events

Gustavo Gimeno conducts Prokofiev, Ravel, Gershwin and Stravinsky featuring Yuja Wang, piano


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

Spanish conductor Gustavo Gimeno makes both his BSO and Tanglewood debuts on Sunday, July 17, at 2:30 p.m., leading the orchestra in Prokofiev's Symphony No. 1, Classical-a work that was inspired by and intended as a tribute to Haydn, and which is one of the earliest pieces in the so-called neoclassical style that became popular in the first half of the 20th century-and the suite from Stravinsky's breakthrough early ballet, The Firebird. Brilliant Chinese pianist Yuja Wang joins Mr. Gimeno and the BSO for two heavily jazz-influenced works: Ravel's Piano Concerto in G, at turns breathless and beautiful, and Gershwin's infectious and well-known Rhapsody in Blue.

Gates open at Noon.

Featured Performers

Gustavo   Gimeno, conductor Gustavo Gimeno, conductor Yuja   Wang, piano Yuja Wang, piano
Program Notes Audio
PROKOFIEV - Symphony No. 1, Classical (16 min)
RAVEL - Piano Concerto in G Major (22 min)
GERSHWIN - Rhapsody in Blue (15 min)
STRAVINSKY - Suite from The Firebird (1919 version) (21 min)
Full Program Notes -