Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Corigliano, Sibelius and Beethoven featuring Augustin Hadelich, violin


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

On Saturday, July 30, at 8 p.m.,  Maestro Nelsons returns to the Shed podium to lead the BSO in a program that pairs Pulitzer Prize-winning American composer John Corigliano's expressive  Fantasia on an Ostinato(1985, arranged for orchestra in 1986) with the work that inspired it, Beethoven's rousing Symphony No. 7, one of the composer's most popular works. Corigliano's piece is based on a famous repetitive passage from the second movement of Beethoven's symphony. In between those two works, young German violinist  Augustin Hadelich joins Mr. Nelsons and the orchestra for Sibelius's soaring Violin Concerto, a pinnacle of the concerto repertoire.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Augustin   Hadelich, violin Augustin Hadelich, violin
Program Notes Audio
CORIGLIANO - Fantasia on an Ostinato (16 min)
SIBELIUS - Violin Concerto (32 min)
BEETHOVEN - Symphony No. 7 (34 min)