Tickets & Events

Michael Stern conducts Bernstein, Haydn, Williams and Respighi featuring cellist Yo-Yo Ma


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

Tanglewood favorite Yo-Yo Ma joins the Boston Symphony Orchestra and conductor Michael Stern on Saturday, August 27, to open the final weekend of the BSO's 2016 Tanglewood season, performing Haydn's Cello Concerto in C and John Williams's Heartwood,for cello and orchestra, and Rosewood and Pickin', for solo cello, on a program that also includes Bernstein's Symphonic Suite from On the Waterfront and Respighi's Pines of Rome.

Featured Performers

Michael   Stern, conductor Michael Stern, conductor Yo-Yo   Ma, cello Yo-Yo Ma, cello
Program Notes Audio
BERNSTEIN - Symphonic Suite from On The Waterfront (23 min)
HAYDN - Cello Concerto No. 1 in C (25 min)
John WILLIAMS - Heartwood, for cello and orchestra (16 min)
John WILLIAMS - Rosewood and Pickin', for solo cello (9 min)
RESPIGHI - Pines of Rome, Symphonic Poem (21 min)
Full Program Notes -