Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Nathan and Brahms featuring pianist Hélène Grimaud

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

With these concerts, BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons opens a two-week Brahms mini-festival traversing all four of the composer's symphonies and his two piano concertos. In addition, these concerts feature the world premieres of two brief, complementary works commissioned for the occasion from the young American composers Eric Nathan and Timo Andres. Nathan's piece begins the first of these programs, which continues with the French pianist Hélène Grimaud performing the intense, craggy Piano Concerto in D minor. Brahms's First Symphony concludes the concerts of November 8 and 10; the Second Symphony completes the concerts of November 11 and 12.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Hélène   Grimaud, piano Hélène Grimaud, piano
Program Notes Audio
Eric NATHAN - the space of a door (world premiere; BSO commission) (11 min)
BRAHMS - Piano Concerto No. 1 (48 min)
BRAHMS - Symphony No. 1 (46 min)
Concert Preview - Full Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!