Tickets & Events

Juanjo Mena conducts Anderson, Schumann and Schubert featuring pianist Jean-Frédéric Neuburger

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Juanjo Mena leads the American premiere of the fine English composer Julian Anderson's Incantesimi, co-commissioned by the BSO, the Royal Philharmonic Society, and the Berlin Philharmonic, which gave the world premiere in June 2016. Incantesimi is a study in long lines, using "five musical ideas that orbit each other in ever-differing relationships." French pianist/composer Jean-Frédéric Neuburger-introduced to BSO audiences in the 2014-15 season via the world premiere of his composition Aube-makes his BSO debut as piano soloist in Robert Schumann's passionate, lyrical Piano Concerto, which began life as a single-movement work and was written for Schumann's wife Clara, one of the great pianists of the age. Franz Schubert wrote his towering orchestral masterpiece, the so-called Great C major symphony, toward the end of his short life. Its exact dates have never been established, but he composed this formally and harmonically innovative piece at around the same time Beethoven wrote his Ninth Symphony.


Christoph von Dohnányi, upon the advice of his physician, cannot travel at this time due to the flu and has regretfully cancelled his engagement to lead the Boston Symphony Orchestra, January 26-28. Conductor Juanjo Mena will replace Mr. Dohnányi for these concerts, also featuring pianist Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, as well as the American premiere of Julian Anderson's Incantesimi, a BSO co-commission. The program remains the same.

Featured Performers

Juanjo   Mena, conductor Juanjo Mena, conductor Jean-Frédéric   Neuburger, piano Jean-Frédéric Neuburger, piano
Program Notes Audio
Julian ANDERSON - Incantesimi (American premiere; BSO co-commission) (8 min)
SCHUMANN - Piano Concerto (30 min)
SCHUBERT - Symphony in C, The Great (58 min)
Full Program Notes -
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!