Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Mozart and Bruckner featuring pianist Mitsuko Uchida

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Japanese pianist Mitsuko Uchida, one of the foremost Mozart pianists of  our age, plays the composer's mysterious, stormy, proto-Romantic D minor piano concerto, a work owing much to the composer's sensitivity to operatic drama and emotion. Bruckner's seldom heard Symphony No. 6, written between 1879 and 1881, was the work he considered his boldest, though only the second and third movements were performed during his lifetime. Gustav Mahler led all four movements-but with cuts-in 1899, in Vienna; the first complete, uncut performance was given in 1901, in Stuttgart. Energetic, lyrical, and expansive, the Symphony No. 6 is a uniquely absorbing example of the composer's monumental symphonic style.


Mastercard Priceless Experience Concert

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Mitsuko   Uchida, piano Mitsuko Uchida, piano
Program Notes Audio
MOZART - Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K.466 (28 min)
BRUCKNER - Symphony No. 6 (54 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!