Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Tchaikovsky, Takemitsu and Shostakovich featuring violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Continuing Andris Nelsons' and the BSO's traversal of the complete Shostakovich symphonies is the composer's Symphony No. 6, composed on the eve of World War II and following on the unmitigated success of his Symphony No. 5. Although overshadowed by the Fifth and Seventh (Leningrad), the Sixth is unmistakably Shostakovich in its sardonic humor and melancholy slow movement. The superb German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter opens the concert with Tchaikovsky's evergreen Violin Concerto, among the most popular works in the repertoire. Known for her exploration of contemporary repertoire, Ms. Mutter also performs Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu's 1987 homage to the phenomenal Russian film director Andrei Tarkovsky. Takemitsu, himself a celebrated film composer, titled this atmospheric piece for violin and strings after one of Tarkovsky's late masterpieces.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Anne-Sophie   Mutter, violin Anne-Sophie Mutter, violin
Program Notes Audio
SHOSTAKOVICH - Festive Overture (6 min)
TCHAIKOVSKY - Violin Concerto in D, Op. 35 (36 min)
TAKEMITSU - Nostalghia (In Memory of Andrei Tarkovskij), for violin and strings (17 min)
SHOSTAKOVICH - Symphony No. 6 (34 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!