Tickets & Events

Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra
Thomas Adès conducts Britten and Sibelius


Seiji Ozawa Hall - Lenox, MA - View Map

Composer, pianist, conductor, and teacher Thomas Adès joins forces with the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra and TMC Conducting Fellows on Monday, July 24, in Ozawa Hall. The first work on the program is Benjamin Britten's Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from Peter Grimes, an opera commissioned by the legendary Serge Koussevitzky and premiered by the Tanglewood Music Center under the direction of Leonard Bernstein in 1946. Mr. Adès then leads the TMCO in his own composition, Polaris, a work exploring the imagery of the cosmos and its relation to nautical navigation. The program also features two works by Jean Sibelius: the enigmatic tone poem The Bard, and his Symphony No. 7, the composer's last extant symphony.

Featured Performers

Thomas   Adès, piano Thomas Adès, piano Tanglewood   Music Center Orchestra, Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra
Tanglewood Music Center   Conducting Fellows, Tanglewood Music Center Conducting Fellows
Program Notes Audio
BRITTEN - Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from Peter Grimes
Thomas ADÈS - Polaris
SIBELIUS - Symphony No. 7