Tickets & Events

Lahav Shani conducts Mozart, Mendelssohn and Schubert featuring violinist Joshua Bell


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

On Sunday, August 13, young Israeli conductor Lahav Shani makes his BSO debut on a program featuring Tanglewood regular, violinist Joshua Bell in Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto.  Mr. Shani also lead the BSO in the overture to Mozart's The Marriage of Figaro and Schubert's Symphony in C, The Great. The composer's ultimate symphony (in both senses of the word: it is his biggest and last work in the genre), the C major was famously praised for its "heavenly length" by Robert Schumann, who observed also that it "transports us into a world we cannot recall ever having been before."

Featured Performers

Lahav   Shani, conductor Lahav Shani, conductor Joshua   Bell, violin Joshua Bell, violin
Program Notes Audio
MOZART - Overture to The Marriage of Figaro (4 min)
MENDELSSOHN - Violin Concerto (28 min)
SCHUBERT - Symphony in C, The Great (58 min)
Full Program Notes -
Listen/Watch Related Media

There is related media for this performance available. Listen to audio podcasts and more in the BSO Media Center!