Tickets & Events

François-Xavier Roth conducts Webern, Bartók and Stravinsky featuring pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

In his second week of concerts, François-Xavier Roth works with outstanding French pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard in Bartók's percussive, glittering Piano Concerto No. 1, in which the composer's love for Central European folk music merges imaginatively with early 20th-century modernism. Music by two close Bartók contemporaries fills out the program. Anton Webern's lush twelve-minute, single-movement Passacaglia from 1908 predates the crystalline miniatures for which he is best-known. Composed the following year is Stravinsky's The Firebird, the breathtakingly magical score for the Ballets Russes that catapulted the 27-year-old composer to fame and which, more than a century later, remains one of his most beloved pieces.

Featured Performers

François-Xavier   Roth, conductor François-Xavier Roth, conductor Pierre-Laurent    Aimard, piano Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
Program Notes Audio
WEBERN - Passacaglia, Op. 1 (12 min)
BARTÓK - Piano Concerto No. 1 (24 min)
STRAVINSKY - The Firebird (Complete) (45 min)
Concert Preview - Full Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!