Tickets & Events

Thomas Adès conducts Beethoven, Ligeti, Adès and Stravinsky featuring violinist Augustin Hadelich

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

BSO Artistic Partner Thomas Adès returns to lead music of his own-a suite from his acclaimed 1995 chamber opera Powder Her Face-and joins with violinist Augustin Hadelich for György Ligeti's 1993 Violin Concerto, a wonderfully varied work that touches on virtually all of Ligeti's late musical concerns in material ranging from poignant, folk-like melody to delighted virtuosity. These performances will include a cadenza written by Thomas Adès for the finale. Opening the program is Beethoven's most boisterous and jolly symphony, No. 8. Closing the program is music from Stravinsky's 1928 ballet The Fairy's Kiss, an homage to Tchaikovsky drawing liberally on the latter's music.

Featured Performers

Thomas   Adès, conductor Thomas Adès, conductor Augustin   Hadelich, violin Augustin Hadelich, violin
Program Notes Audio
BEETHOVEN - Symphony No. 8 (30 min)
LIGETI - Violin Concerto (30 min)
Thomas ADЀS - Suite from Powder Her Face (28 min)
STRAVINSKY - Divertimento from The Fairy's Kiss (23 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Full Program Notes