Tickets & Events

Alan Gilbert conducts Sibelius, Debussy and Adams featuring violinist Leila Josefowicz

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Former New York Philharmonic music director Alan Gilbert leads a recent work by California-based composer John Adams, his Scheherezade.2, a work composed for violinist Leila Josefowicz. Adams's four-movement work is a 21st-century response to the Arabian Nights paralleling Rimsky-Korsakov's 1888 symphonic score. Opening the program is Jean Siblelius's atmospheric tone poem En Saga ("A Saga"), which features many of the composer's characteristic touches of orchestration and folk-music-influenced melody. Claude Debussy's Jeux ("Games"), was enormously influential for later composers in its luminous and nuanced orchestration.

Featured Performers

Alan    Gilbert, conductor Alan Gilbert, conductor Leila   Josefowicz, violin Leila Josefowicz, violin
Program Notes Audio
SIBELIUS - En saga (20 min)
DEBUSSY - Jeux (17 min)
John ADAMS - Scheherazade.2, for violin and orchestra (48 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Full Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!