Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Mozart, Widmann and Strauss featuring cellist Yo-Yo Ma and BSO principal violist Steven Ansell

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Andris Nelsons leads the American premiere of Partita, a new work co-commissioned by the BSO and the Gewandhaus Orchestra of Leipzig from esteemed German composer Jörg Widmann, whose powerful Trauermarsch for piano and orchestra was performed by Maestro Nelsons and the BSO with Yefim Bronfman in the fall of 2016. To conclude this program, cellist Yo-Yo Ma and BSO principal violist Steven Ansell are spotlighted in Richard Strauss's picaresque tour-de-force Don Quixote, a tone poem whose episodes illustrate scenes from Cervantes' famous novel. Opening these concerts is Mozart's brief, rarely performed Symphony No. 23, written in 1773 when he was just seventeen.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Yo-Yo   Ma, cello Yo-Yo Ma, cello
Steven   Ansell, viola Steven Ansell, viola
Program Notes Audio
MOZART - Symphony No. 23 (14 min)
Jörg WIDMANN - Partita (American premiere; BSO co-commission)
STRAUSS - Don Quixote (45 min)
Full Program Notes - Audio Concert Preview
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!