Tickets & Events

The BSO and the Boston Pops present a special free concert and community arts festival in Boston's Franklin Park

Boston Symphony Orchestra

The Playstead at Franklin Park - Boston, MA - View Map

On Sunday, October 1, at 3 p.m., the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Boston Pops, in partnership with the City of Boston, will present a special free concert in Boston's Franklin Park. The concert is preceded by a community arts festival with family-friendly activities presented by many of Boston's major institutions and local arts organizations. Offerings include an interactive mural, instrument playground, crafts, photo booth, live animal demonstrations, and more!

Led by BSO Music Director Andris Nelsons, Boston Pops Conductor Keith Lockhart, and BSO Youth and Family Concerts Conductor Thomas Wilkins, the outdoor concert marks the first time the BSO and the Boston Pops have performed on the same stage in a free outdoor public venue. Though the Boston Pops have performed at Franklin Park twice before-in 2000, under the direction of Keith Lockhart, and in 1968 with Arthur Fiedler-this will be the first performance by the Boston Symphony Orchestra in Boston's largest park, and the first time Mr. Nelsons has led the orchestra in an outdoor venue in Boston: The Playstead at Franklin Park, 25 Pierpont Road, Dorchester.

The festival also includes several local food vendors, so you can sample everything from waffle sundaes to Vietnamese banh mi, tamales to rosemary iced tea. There's something for everyone! 


Festival Performers:
1:30  Castle of Our Skins
2:00  Ballet Rox
2:30  Jorge Arce: The Afro-Caribbean Project


Need help getting to the Playstead at Franklin Park?

Take the T or the Bus
Download Walking Directions Map from Orange Line T-Stops (PDF)

Grab an Uber
First Time Uber users can use code BSOCONCERT17, worth $20 off a first ride.


Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Keith   Lockhart, conductor Keith Lockhart, conductor
Thomas   Wilkins, conductor Thomas Wilkins, conductor
Program Notes Audio
SMITH - The Star-Spangled Banner
John WILLIAMS - March from Raiders of the Lost Ark (5 min)
John WILLIAMS - Hedwig's Theme from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (5 min)
John WILLIAMS - Theme from JFK Suite (3 min)
John WILLIAMS - Main Theme from Star Wars (6 min)
SHOSTAKOVICH - Festive Overture (6 min)
MARQUEZ - Danzón No. 2 (7 min)
Grant STILL - Symphony No. 1, 4th movement ("Aspiration") (8 min)
MAHLER - Symphony No. 1, 4th movement (18 min)
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!