Skip to content
BSO, Pops, Tanglewood, and Symphony Hall Logos

Duke Ellington Anniversary Celebration

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall, Boston, MA

Thomas Wilkins, conductor
Gerald Clayton, piano
Renese King, vocalist
Vocal Ensemble

Three Black Kings
New World A-Coming, for piano and orchestra
Night Creature
Selection from the Sacred Concerts

The BSO and Thomas Wilkins mark the 50th anniversary of Duke Ellington’s death with three of this American musical genius’ symphonically ambitious “Tone Parallels” — his personal take on the tone poem; Gerald Clayton is soloist in the optimistic New World A-Coming. Ellington’s three Sacred Concerts of 1965, 1968, and 1973, conceived as a parallel to traditional European church music, feature styles at the core of jazz, including gospel, the blues, and spirituals in a multidimensional, oratorio-like presentation.

Performance Details

Nov 7, 2024, 7:30pm EST

Getting Here

A view of the empty Symphony Hall, with the stage in the distance

Plan Your Visit