Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts J.S. Bach, Berg and Shostakovich featuring violinist Isabelle Faust

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Andris Nelsons leads this intriguing program of seemingly disconnected works. Two of the most important works of the 20th century, Shostakovich's Symphony No. 5 and Alban Berg's Violin Concerto were composed within two years of one another. Shostakovich's symphony, which follows a trajectory from darkness to triumph, has long been considered his reaction to official condemnation of his music by the Soviet government, but the reality is far subtler than that.Alban Berg's Violin Concerto was composed as a memorial to eighteen-year-old Manon Gropius (daughter of Walter Gropius and Alma Mahler); the entire work is suffused with elegy. Its second movement quotes Bach's chorale Es ist genug, which has deep musical connections to Berg's piece. That brief Bach chorale from Cantata No. 60, as well as the short motet Komm, Jesu, komm!, open and set the tone for this program.


After the concert, Andris Nelsons will be signing copies of the BSO's latest Deutsche Grammophon release "Shostakovich Under Stalin's Shadow," in Higginson Hall.  

Join the conversation online by using #BSOShostakovich for this concert series or #BSO1516 on your social networks to discover the excitement of the season and connect with one another!

Featured Performers & Ensembles

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Isabelle   Faust, violin Isabelle Faust, violin
Program Notes Audio
J.S. BACH - Komm, Jesu, komm! (9 min) and Es ist genug (2 min)
BERG - Violin Concerto (25 min)
SHOSTAKOVICH - Symphony No. 5 (50 min)
Full Program Notes - Audio Concert Preview