Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Berlioz, Tsontakis, Saint-Saëns and Prokofiev


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

On Sunday, August 21, at 2:30 p.m., Andris Nelsons leads the BSO in a program that includes three works inspired by Shakespeare and honors the 400th anniversary of the Bard's death. The overture to Berlioz's Béatrice et Bénédict (based on Shakespeare's Much Ado About Nothing) opens the program, followed by American composer George Tsontakis's Sonnets, a Shakespeare-inspired tone poem for English horn and orchestra commissioned by the BSO and featuring BSO English horn player Robert Sheena. The Mr. Sheena and the BSO gave the world premiere of Sonnets earlier this year at Symphony Hall. Croatian pianist Dejan Lazić, making his BSO and Tanglewood debuts, joins Mr. Nelsons and the orchestra as soloist in Saint-Saens's Piano Concerto No. 5, Egyptian, and the program closes with a suite from Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet, one of the composer's most familiar and popular pieces.

Gates open at Noon.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Robert   Sheena, oboe / English horn Robert Sheena, oboe / English horn
Dejan   Lazic, piano Dejan Lazic, piano
Program Notes Audio
BERLIOZ - Overture to Béatrice et Bénédict (8 min)
TSONTAKIS - Sonnets, Tone Poems for English Horn and Orchestra ( BSO commission) (24 min)
SAINT-SAËNS - Piano Concerto No. 5, Egyptian (29 min)
PROKOFIEV - Suite from Romeo and Juliet (45 min)