Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts Andres and Brahms

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

The second program of the BSO's two-week Brahms mini-fest encompassing Brahms's symphonies and piano concertos opens with a brief new work commissioned from the Brooklyn-based American composer Timo Andres (the first program having included a new work by American composer Eric Nathan). Andres's new piece opens this week's programs, which feature Hélène Grimaud as soloist in Brahms's magisterial Piano Concerto No. 2. The Third Symphony concludes the concerts of November 15 and 17; the Fourth Symphony completes the concerts of November 18 and 19.

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Hélène   Grimaud, piano Hélène Grimaud, piano
Program Notes Audio
Timo ANDRES - Everything Happens So Much (world premiere; BSO commission)
BRAHMS - Piano Concerto No. 2 (48 min)
BRAHMS - Symphony No. 3 (38 min)
Full Program Notes - Audio Concert Preview
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!