Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts an All-Mozart Program featuring pianist Radu Lupu, vocal soloists, and chorus

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Symphony Hall - Boston, MA - View Map

Andris Nelsons leads this all-Mozart program featuring four acclaimed vocalists in Mozart's transformative Requiem, which he began in response to a mysterious commission. The work remained incomplete at his death in 1791, but at Constanze Mozart's request, Mozart's pupil Franz Xaver Süssmayer finished it with remarkable fidelity to the master's style. Opening the program, the great Romanian pianist Radu Lupu plays one of Mozart's most unusual piano concertos, No. 24 in C minor. Composed in the spring of 1786 and premiered by the composer in Vienna, the proto-Romantic C minor is unique in its strangeness and restlessness, and features a fascinating theme-and-variations finale.

Featured Performers & Ensembles

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Radu   Lupu, piano Radu Lupu, piano
Lucy   Crowe, soprano Lucy Crowe, soprano Tamara   Mumford, mezzo-soprano Tamara Mumford, mezzo-soprano
Ben   Johnson, tenor Ben Johnson, tenor Morris   Robinson, bass Morris Robinson, bass
James   Bagwell, guest chorus conductor James Bagwell, guest chorus conductor
Program Notes Audio
MOZART - Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K.491 (30 min)
MOZART - Requiem (55 min)
Audio Concert Preview - Program Notes
Listen/Watch Related Media

The BSO Media Center offers program snapshots of upcoming performances as well as audio concert previews and video podcasts!