Tickets & Events

Boston Symphony Chamber Players with soprano Yulia Van Doren and pianist Paul Lewis


Seiji Ozawa Hall - Lenox, MA - View Map

The Boston Symphony Chamber Players make their annual Tanglewood appearance on Wednesday, August 16. Opening the program is Sofia Gubaidulina's Garden of Joys and Sorrows, for flute, viola, and harp, a one-movement piece inspired by Eastern storyteller Iv Oganov's "Sayat-Nova" and verses by 20th-century German poet Francisco Tanzer. The program also features soprano Yulia Van Doren in Bach's Cantata No. 199, Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut, and pianist Paul Lewis in Dvořák's Quintet in A for piano and strings, Op. 81. 

Featured Performers & Ensembles

Yulia   Van Doren, soprano Yulia Van Doren, soprano Paul   Lewis, piano Paul Lewis, piano
Boston Symphony Chamber Players
Malcolm Lowe, violin
Haldan Martinson, violin
Steven Ansell, viola
Edwin Barker, double bass
Elizabeth Rowe, flute
John Ferrillo, oboe
William R. Hudgins, clarinet
Richard Svoboda, bassoon
James Sommerville, horn
Program Notes Audio
Sofia GUBAIDULINA - Garden of Joy and Sorrow, for flute, viola, and harp (15 min)
J.S. BACH - Cantata No. 199, Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut (25 min)
DVOŘÁK - Quintet in A for piano and strings, Op. 81 (38 min)