Tickets & Events

Andris Nelsons conducts the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra featuring trumpet players Håkan Hardenberger and Thomas Rolfs


Seiji Ozawa Hall - Lenox, MA - View Map

The Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra kicks off its 2017 season under the direction of Andris Nelsons on Monday, July 10. The performance features Swedish trumpeter Håkan Hardenberger, one of Mr. Nelsons' closest artistic collaborators, and Thomas Rolfs, BSO principal trumpet and a former TMC Fellow. Highlighting the program are two concertos written for Mr. Hardenberger by acclaimed English composer Mark-Anthony Turnage. Mr. Hardenberger is soloist in the 2004 concerto From the Wreckage, an emotional journey transporting listeners from a spiky introduction to the calm plateau of its final resolution. Hardenberger is joined by Thomas Rolfs for Turnage's 1995 double trumpet concerto Dispelling the Fears. Mark-Anthony Turnage's music has been performed frequently at Tanglewood since he was a TMC Fellow in 1983. Also on the program is Prokofiev's Symphony No. 1, Classical, and Stravinsky's Symphony in Three Movements. 

Featured Performers

Andris   Nelsons, conductor Andris Nelsons, conductor Håkan   Hardenberger, trumpet Håkan Hardenberger, trumpet
Thomas   Rolfs, trumpet Thomas Rolfs, trumpet Tanglewood   Music Center Orchestra, Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra
Tanglewood Music Center   Conducting Fellows, Tanglewood Music Center Conducting Fellows
Program Notes Audio
PROKOFIEV - Symphony No. 1, Classical (16 min)
STRAVINSKY - Symphony in Three Movements
Mark-Anthony TURNAGE - From the Wreckage, for trumpet and orchestra
Mark-Anthony TURNAGE - Dispelling the Fears, for two trumpets and orchestra