Tickets & Events

Thomas Adès conducts Britten, Adès and Beethoven featuring pianist Emanuel Ax


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

BSO Artistic Partner Thomas Adès opens the Saturday, July 22 BSO program leading his own …but all shall be well, a piece inspired by lines from T.S. Eliot's quotation of Julian of Norwich in Four Quartets: "Sin is Behovely, but All shall be well, and All manner of thing shall be well." The program also features Emanuel Ax in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor, the last and most monumental of Beethoven's concertos; as well as the dramatically expressive Sinfonia da Requiem by Benjamin Britten, a composer for whom Mr. Adès has a great affinity. 

Featured Performers

Thomas   Adès, conductor Thomas Adès, conductor Emanuel   Ax, piano Emanuel Ax, piano
Program Notes Audio
BRITTEN - Sinfonia da Requiem (21 min)
Thomas ADÈS - ...but all shall be well
BEETHOVEN - Piano Concerto No. 5, Emperor (42 min)
Full Program Notes -
Listen/Watch Related Media

There is related media for this performance available. Listen to audio podcasts and more in the BSO Media Center!