Tickets & Events

Ken-David Masur conducts Kernis, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky featuring pianist Nikolai Lugansky


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

On Sunday, July 23, BSO Assistant Conductor Ken-David Masur is joined by Russian pianist Nikolai Lugansky for Prokofiev's sparkling Piano Concerto No. 3. Mr. Masur opens the afternoon program with Aaron Jay Kernis's airy and moving Musica Celestis ("Heavenly Music"), written by the Grawemeyer Award-winning composer in 2000. Closing the concert is Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 2, Little Russian.

Featured Performers

Ken-David   Masur, conductor Ken-David Masur, conductor Nikolai   Lugansky, piano Nikolai Lugansky, piano
Program Notes Audio
Aaron Jay KERNIS - Musica Celestis
PROKOFIEV - Piano Concerto No. 3 (30 min)
TCHAIKOVSKY - Symphony No. 2, Little Russian
Full Program Notes -