Tickets & Events

Giancarlo Guerrero conducts Dvořák, Brahms and Stravinsky featuring violinist Gil Shaham and cellist Alisa Weilerstein


Koussevitzky Music Shed - Lenox, MA - View Map

Violinist Gil Shaham and cellist Alisa Weilerstein join forces on Friday, August 11, for a performance of Brahms's Double Concerto for violin, cello, and orchestra, with Costa Rican conductor Giancarlo Guerrero and the BSO. Brahms composed the concerto-his final orchestral work-as an olive branch to his old friend and close musical collaborator Joseph Joachim, with whom he'd had a falling out over Joachim's divorce. Also on the program are Dvořák's Carnival Overture and Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, the score to an intensely dramatic ballet and on its own some of the most dramatic music ever written.

Featured Performers

Giancarlo   Guerrero, conductor Giancarlo Guerrero, conductor Gil   Shaham, violin Gil Shaham, violin
Alisa   Weilerstein, cello Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Program Notes Audio
DVOŘÁK - Carnival Overture (10 min)
BRAHMS - Double Concerto for violin, cello, and orchestra
STRAVINSKY - The Rite of Spring (33 min)
Full Program Notes -
Listen/Watch Related Media

There is related media for this performance available. Listen to audio podcasts and more in the BSO Media Center!